Mackenzie Printery Museum

Histoire de Mackenzie Printery

Remontez le temps et essayez-vous au réglage du type et au fonctionnement de l'une des huit presses en fonctionnement. Le personnel qualifié propose des visites guidées et des démonstrations intéressantes et des opportunités pour «l'essayer vous-même». Les mouleurs de caractères en métal chaud qui fonctionnent jetteront le texte sous vos yeux. Vous visiterez le plus grand musée de l'imprimerie en activité au Canada. La maison Mackenzie restaurée, un cadeau d'amis et de partisans de William Lyon Mackenzie lorsqu'il a pris sa retraite de l'Assemblée législative provinciale en 1858, est devenue un musée de site historique en 1950 et abrite, depuis 1967, une imprimerie reconstituée du XIXe siècle. Vous pouvez voir "plus de 500 ans de technologie d'impression, dans l'ambiance authentique d'une imprimerie d'époque". William Lyon Mackenzie était l'arrière-grand-père du premier ministre William Lyon Mackenzie King. Peut-être mieux connu comme le premier maire de Toronto et le chef de la rébellion de 1837, Mackenzie fut également l'éditeur du journal Colonial Advocate de 1824 à 1834 et l'un des premiers imprimeurs du Canada. Le journal était basé dans cette maison de Queenston, dans le Haut-Canada, et aimait critiquer le Family Compact, le nom informel de l'élite conservatrice qui contrôlait le Haut-Canada à l'époque.

Le meilleur musée interactif du Haut-Canada

La maison restaurée de l'éditeur rebelle William Lyon Mackenzie révèle 500 ans de technologie d'impression, dans l'ambiance authentique d'une imprimerie d'époque. La plus rare de la collection de l'imprimeur Mackenzie est la Louis Roy Press, la plus ancienne au Canada et l'une des rares presses à bois originales qui subsistent au monde! Une expérience pratique est encouragée avec un linotype fonctionnel et huit presses patrimoniales en fonctionnement.

Une coentreprise a été créée en 1990 entre la Niagara Parks Commission et un comité d'imprimerie bénévole à but non lucratif chargé de la préservation du matériel d'impression. Pour en savoir plus sur l'Imprimerie et les événements à venir, visitez l'Imprimerie Mackenzie.

faits et chiffres

Le Mackenzie Printery:

  • est le plus grand musée de l'imprimerie en activité au Canada, consacré à l'exposition de presses historiques couvrant plus de 500 ans de l'ère de la typographie
  • était l'ancienne maison du «gouvernement responsable», où le rédacteur en chef William Lyon Mackenzie a commencé sa carrière d'édition avec son journal, le Colonial Advocate, dédié à la réforme politique
  • contient la plus ancienne presse du Canada vers 1770. La Louis Roy Press a été utilisée pour imprimer le premier journal du Haut-Canada, l'Upper Canada Gazette ou American Oracle, en 1793 à Newark, la première capitale de l'Ontario, aujourd'hui Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • a été reconstruite à partir de ruines par la Commission des parcs du Niagara, la maison de William Lyon Mackenzie a été ouverte en 1938 par le premier ministre William Lyon Mackenzie King, l'arrière-petit-fils de Mackenzie
  • présente une exposition informative sur la maison de William Lyon Mackenzie.

Le Mackenzie Printery & Newspaper Museum de Queenston est un endroit qui a joué un rôle bref mais important dans l'histoire du Canada. Le magnifique bâtiment en calcaire était la maison de William Lyon Mackenzie et de là, il a commencé sa carrière en tant qu'éditeur et agitateur pour la réforme politique.

Aujourd'hui, le Mackenzie Printery & Newspaper Museum propose un environnement pratique avec un linotype fonctionnel, huit presses patrimoniales en fonctionnement et le studio de lithographie restauré de l'artiste canadien Frederick Hagan.

Lorsque vous visitez ce magnifique bâtiment, prenez particulièrement note des deux grands criquets qui poussent à l'entrée car ils jouent un rôle particulier dans notre histoire. Comme Mackenzie l'écrivait en 1854: «Il y a trente ans, j'ai publié à Queenston, le 18 mai 1824, le premier numéro d'un journal public, volontairement créé pour promouvoir la justice et l'équité dans une colonie peu peuplée et mal gouvernée. le jour qui avait transformé un marchand obscur calme et paisible en un politicien colonial ardent et un censeur public, j'ai alors planté devant ma demeure une rangée d'acacias ou de sauterelles, et une vigne et j'ai eu le plaisir la semaine dernière de les voir pousser luxueusement . " La vigne a disparu depuis longtemps, mais il reste deux de ses cinq criquets d'origine, un mémorial vivant à l'un des premiers éditeurs et activistes politiques canadiens.

L'imprimerie et le musée Mackenzie sont situés au 1 Queenston St., Queenston, ON.

Ce bâtiment historique n'est pas accessible aux fauteuils roulants.

Follow the Fun in Niagara!

Follow @CliftonHillFun

Address: 1 Queenston St., Queenston, ON

Mackenzie Printery Museum

Location

Mackenzie Printery
1 Queenston St.
Queenston , ON
Canada
Phone: (905) 262-5676
43° 9' 44.244" N, 79° 3' 13.0536" W
Ontario CA

Mackenzie Printery History

Step back in time and try your hand at setting type and working one of eight operating presses. Qualified staff provide guided tours, and there are interesting demonstrations and opportunities to "try it yourself". Working hot metal typecasters will cast type before your eyes. You will be visiting Canada's largest working printing museum. The restored Mackenzie House, a gift from friends and supporters of William Lyon Mackenzie when he retired from the provincial legislature in 1858, became a historic site museum in 1950 and is home, since 1967, to a recreated 19th-century printing shop. You can see "over 500 years of printing technology, amid the authentic ambiance of a period print shop." William Lyon Mackenzie was the great grandfather of Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King. Perhaps better known as the first mayor of Toronto and the leader of the Rebellion of 1837, Mackenzie was also the publisher of the Colonial Advocate newspaper from 1824 to 1834 and one of Canada's earliest printers. The paper was based in this house here in Queenston, Upper Canada, and was fond of critiquing the Family Compact, the informal name of the Conservative elite who controlled Upper Canada at that time.

The Best Hands-on Museum in Upper Canada

The restored home of rebel publisher William Lyon Mackenzie reveals 500 years of printing technology, amid the authentic ambiance of a period print shop. Rarest in the Mackenzie Printery's collection is the Louis Roy Press, oldest in Canada and one of the few original wooden presses remaining in the world! A hands-on experience is encouraged with a working linotype and eight operating heritage presses.

A joint venture was established in 1990 between The Niagara Parks Commission and a volunteer non-profit Printery Committee concerned with the preservation of printing equipment. To learn more about the Printery and upcoming events, visit Mackenzie Printery.

Facts & Figures

The Mackenzie Printery:

  • is Canada's largest operating printing museum, devoted to displaying historic presses covering more than 500 years of the letterpress printing era
  • was the former home of "responsible government," where firebrand editor William Lyon Mackenzie began his publishing career with his newspaper, the Colonial Advocate, dedicated to political reform
  • contains Canada's oldest press circa 1770. The Louis Roy Press was used to print Upper Canada's first newspaper, the Upper Canada Gazette or American Oracle, in 1793 at Newark, Ontario's first capital, now Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • was reconstructed from ruins by The Niagara Parks Commission, the home of William Lyon Mackenzie was opened in 1938 by Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King, Mackenzie's great grandson
  • features an informative display on William Lyon Mackenzie's home.

The Mackenzie Printery & Newspaper Museum in Queenston is a place that played a brief, but important role in Canadian history. The beautiful limestone building was the home of William Lyon Mackenzie and from here he began his career as publisher and agitator for political reform.

Today, the Mackenzie Printery & Newspaper Museum features a hands-on environment with a working linotype, eight operating heritage presses and the restored lithography studio of Canadian artist Frederick Hagan.

When you visit this beautiful building, take special note of the two large locust trees growing at the entranceway as they play a special part in our history. As Mackenzie wrote in 1854, "Thirty years ago, I published at Queenston, on the 18th of May, 1824, the first number of a public newspaper, voluntarily established to promote justice and equity in a sparsely populated, badly governed colony. To commemorate the day that had transformed a quiet, peaceful obscure trader into an ardent colonial politician and public censor, I then planted in front of my dwelling a row of acacia or locust trees, and a grapevine and had the pleasure last week of seeing them growing luxuriously." The grapevine has long since disappeared, but two of his original five locust trees remain, a living memorial to an early Canadian publisher and political activist.

Mackenzie Printery and Museum is located at 1 Queenston St., Queenston, ON.

This historic building is not wheelchair accessible.

Admission

  • Adults $5.00
  • Children (6 to 12 years) $3.75
  • Children five years and under admitted for free.

Hours of Operation

Open daily 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

All times subject to change.

Your best deal for seeing the greatest attractions on Clifton Hill is with the Clifton Hill 4 Attraction Pass! A great way to save money on the most popular attractions!

  • Four Attraction Pass
  • Movieland Wax Museum
  • Ghost Blasters Dark Ride
  • Wild West Coaster
  • Dinosaur Adventure Golf or Wizards’ Golf

DON’T MISS OUT!

Get your Clifton Hill Fun Pass

5 BONUS TOKENS

when you buy online!

Now only...

ADULT $19.95 per person
CHILD $14.95 per person
Close Window