• journey behind the falls

Address: 6650 Niagara Parkway, Niagara Falls, ON

Journey Behind the Falls

Location

6650 Niagara Parkway
Niagara Falls , ON
Canada
43° 4' 44.7024" N, 79° 4' 40.8468" W
Ontario CA

C’est l’un des sites touristiques les plus anciens de Niagara. À Journey Behind the Falls vous aurez l’occasion de descendre 150 pieds à travers la roche de fond à des tunnels qui négligeront la magie de l’expérience de la Horseshoe Falls de directement sous la puissance en cascade ci-dessus.

Autrefois connus sous le nom de «Scenic Tunnels» jusqu’aux années 1990, vous découvrirez le spectacle impressionnant d’un cinquième de l’eau douce du monde s’écrasant vers le bas. Pendant les heures d’été, plus de 2 800 mètres cubes d’eau troquent sur le bord chaque seconde, parcourant 65 kilomètres à l’heure!

Vous serez dirigé vers le Portail de Cataracte et le portail de Great Falls qui est situé juste derrière la feuille massive d’eau. Marcher sur les hautes et basses plateaux d’observation pour une vue incroyable et impressionnante.

Le voyage derrière les chutes est situé au centre d’accueil de Table Rock au 6650 Niagara Parkway. Un parking payant est disponible au stationnement des chutes, juste de l’autre côté de la rue, ou à proximité à notre stationnement Clifton Hill.

* Le pont d’observation inférieur est fermé pendant les mois d’hiver pour la sécurité de temps et les conditions glacées. Le pont supérieur, les tunnels et les portails d’observation restent ouverts.

Prix: Adultes (13+) 11,25 $ + Taxe, Enfants (6-12) 7,30 $ + Taxe, les enfants de 5 ans et moins sont GRATUITS

HISTOIRE

En 1903, un tunnel a été construit derrière les chutes Horseshoe avec un ascenseur de raccordement pour transporter les employés qui ont travaillé à la centrale électrique à la base des chutes. En 1924 une extension a été construite plus de 50 mètres de long sous les chutes Horseshoe, et au fil du temps des ajouts comme l’électricité et un tunnel protégé bordé de béton a été construit.

Ce n’est qu’en 1951 qu’une plate-forme d’observation extérieure a été construite, et aujourd’hui nous avons l’attraction scénique "Journey Behind the Falls" comme elle l’est aujourd’hui. 

Your best deal for seeing the greatest attractions on Clifton Hill is with the Clifton Hill 5 Attraction Pass! A great way to save money on the most popular attractions!

  • Niagara SkyWheel
  • Wild West Coaster
  • Movieland Wax Museum
  • Ghost Blasters Dark Ride
  • Dinosaur Adventure Golf or Wizards’ Golf

DON’T MISS OUT!

Get your Clifton Hill Fun Pass

Save $25

when you buy online!

Now only...

ADULT $25.95 per person
CHILD $19.95 per person
Close Window

The Niagara SkyWheel Is Now Open! Learn More
  • journey behind the falls

Address: 6650 Niagara Parkway, Niagara Falls, ON

Journey Behind the Falls

Location

6650 Niagara Parkway
Niagara Falls , ON
Canada
43° 4' 44.7024" N, 79° 4' 40.8468" W
Ontario CA

This is one of Niagara’s oldest tourist hot spots. At Journey Behind the Falls you will get the opportunity to descend 150 feet through bedrock to tunnels that will overlook the magic of experiencing the Horseshoe Falls from directly underneath the cascading power above.

Formerly known as the "Scenic Tunnels" until the 1990's, you'll experience the awesome spectacle of one-fifth of the world’s fresh water crashing down to the basin below. During summer daylight hours, over 2,800 cubic meters of water thunders over the brink every second, travelling 65 kilometers per hour!

You will be lead to the Cataract Portal and the Great Falls Portal which is located just behind the massive sheet of water. Walk out on to the Upper and Lower Observation Decks for an unbelievable and awe-inspiring view. 

The Journey Behind the Falls is located at the Table Rock Welcome Centre at 6650 Niagara Parkway. Paid Parking is available at the Falls Parking Lot, just across the street, or close-by at our Clifton Hill parking lot.

A souvenir biodegradable rain poncho is provided during peak season to keep you dry from the mist of the Falls. 

*The lower observation deck is closed during the winter months for weather safety and icy conditions. The upper deck, tunnels and viewing portals remain open.

Pricing

  • Adults (13+) $11.25+Tax
  • Children (6-12) $7.30+Tax
  • Children 5 and Under are FREE

HISTORY

In 1903, a tunnel was built behind the Horseshoe Falls with a connecting elevator to transport employees that worked at the power generating station at the base of the Falls. In 1924 an extension was built over 50 metres long under the Horseshoe Falls, and over time additions such as electricity and a protected tunnel lined in concrete was built. 

It wasn’t until 1951 that an outdoor observation platform was constructed, and today we have the “Journey Behind the Falls” scenic attraction as it looks today.

 

Your best deal for seeing the greatest attractions on Clifton Hill is with the Clifton Hill 5 Attraction Pass! A great way to save money on the most popular attractions!

  • Niagara SkyWheel
  • Wild West Coaster
  • Movieland Wax Museum
  • Ghost Blasters Dark Ride
  • Dinosaur Adventure Golf or Wizards’ Golf

DON’T MISS OUT!

Get your Clifton Hill Fun Pass

Save $25

when you buy online!

Now only...

ADULT $25.95 per person
CHILD $19.95 per person
Close Window